Museo Candy 3d Text Effect – A typographic wallpaper.

The mighty Museo Typeface all rolled up in a tootsie roll wrapper.

The mighty Museo Typeface all rolled up in a tootsie roll wrapper.

For almost two months I have oohed and aahed over mindblowing 3d text effects and digital artworks depicting the same. Then yesterday, I decided to finally succumb to the need to make one of my own. It took me a little less than 2 hours from start to finish, working in both Illustrator and Photoshop; to come up with this wallpaper. Needless to say, I was thoroughly happy with my amateur attempt and enthusiastically took screenshots of the various stages of the design development [which I hope becomes my very first tutorial for the next blog post].

So what is the wallpaper all about? I think by now, the entire world knows what “Museo” is. Developed by designer Jos Buivenga of the Exljbris Font Foundry fame, it got everyone’s attention when 3 out of the 5 styles were offered for free and alongwith fellow “Museo San” rose to the top 10 fonts of 2008 on MyFonts.com. When I first saw it on Francesco Mugnai’s website, it was love at first sight for me. It is quite brilliant and has a feel good quality to it. I have created 3d letters that spell out Museo and wrapped them up in red tootsie roll wrappers [a candy I have only heard stories about and continues to be elusive here in Australia]. Sticking to a green theme, I have tried to use all elements and aspects of design that I love so much …. crushed paper, black grass, retro colors, swirls, foliage, butterflies, grunge and dirt.

Enjoy the wallpaper, it is high resolution and available in a cartload of sizes to suit your desktop needs.

{ 2560 X 1600 } { 2048 X 1536 } { 1920 X 1200 } { 1680 X 1050 } { 1600 X 1200 } { 1400 X 1050 } { 1280 X 960 } { 1280 X 800 } { 1024 X 768 } { 800 X 600 }

Leave a Reply

